Home > religion > Christian Practices

Christian Practices


Letter from ItiA

Ok, lets start with some simple crazy practice I observed when I was programmed as a Christian Bible Thumping Crazy American.

I had no problem living on fast food and drinking over 2 liters of Mountain Dew every day. Yes the Bible says your body is a temple, but that is not what the church says. Every church I ever attended was a alcohol drinking, cigarette smoking sexually repressed group of homophobes. Their twisted sense of the body purity through sexual repression and body debautchery through approved church drugs amazing to observe.

I was sure that god was coming back within the next 7 years. That was 1990. I had the misfortune of hearing two generations of pastors go from “We are in the end times, prepare yourself!”, to “We don’t know exactly when it will happen, but it will happen soon, so keep your eyes open.”. What is the natural human response? WE’RE GONNA PARTY LIKE ITS 1999! Every day was new years eve for me. The rapture was surely only a few years away. I was one of the few generations that had a second chance. Once the rapture happened, even if I didn’t make the grade and get taken immediately to heaven, I was given the chance to be Clint Eastwood in my own version of the Left Behind series.

So I ate what I pleased, drank what I pleased and did what I pleased. No need for remorse, I was forgiven. To feel bad about something I was forgiven for was to question God’s forgiveness for me.

So now Mountain Dew is consumed in great rarity, and I am working to ingest healing foods to repair the damage I am sure I caused with consuming quarts of high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated fats from fast food burgers, and empty calories. Reality is much more work than insanity.

Help, I am ItiA (Inside the insane America)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

